De-Labeling: An Exercise in Identity

This post is a response to several questions I have recieved about how my students created their “labels” for this video –> http://youtu.be/4arGgn2o-8I The idea behind this exercise has several levels. I wanted to create an open environment where my students felt understood, respected & could express themselves. I hoped to give them tools to better understand the complexity of identity, definitions, labels, etc & in this understanding they would claim ownership of themselves not by how anyone else saw them, but as how they saw themselves. Oh, the complexity. Then hopefully we would be creating a deeper understanding of themselves, their peers (first within class & then extending out to the community, country, & world). The purpose of the exercise is to give students a platform to gain a greater understanding of themselves & eachother & begin to build the class community & norms off of this exercise, and also be able to look back at this exersice & the images & video we created to get back on track. I have extended this exercise to join with my 11th graders 1st semester project of “defining America” & have created an impromptu google document of the logistics of the de-labeling exercise. I will be posting how this exercise goes with my students this year with the additions, etc. Any suggestions, critiques, etc are gladly welcome and I encourage you to share how you tackle this topic in your own classroom. 

https://docs.google.com/document/d/14W64nmewZRIeD1GsX_14Cb-tvl3FSx_5urHp4W2Hln8/edit?hl=en_US (google document project outline) The building of this document is in the works, so be aware of unorganization, over-wordy tendencies & grammatical errors 🙂 

Posters

Leave a Reply

